Inspire at the Mind, Body, Spirit Festival Easter Weekend 2010

Some of you will know that in October I joined forces with my ex work colleague and friend Lynette to set up a business called Inspire. We have combined our skills and experiences and are offering Drug Awareness and Training, Complementary Therapies and Emotional Freedom Technique (EFT). We spent the months up to the New Year getting all of our marketing materials sorted and since then we have been steadily growing. This Easter weekend we exhibited for the first time at the White Light Mind, Body & Spirit Festival in Solihull.

Me and Lynette on our very first exhibition stand!

We had to get there quite early for a Saturday. I enjoyed the quietness of the roads until I hit Blossomfield Road and the new speed cameras! The event was at a really good venue called Cranmore Park in Shirley, Solihull. I met Lynette there and Lindsey also came along to help us. Lindsey Cheers of  Couture Designs fame designed all of our marketing materials as well as our website (with techy support and advice from Dave CompMagic). If you ever need anything designing, or need a new website then contact them, they are both brilliant!

It took a while for us to get the stand looking right. Think there must be a joke in there somewhere. How many blondes does it take to set up an exhibiton stand? Apparently three. Anyway, this was the finished product.

As this was a Mind Body Spirit Event there were a variety of different exhibitors. Our friends Jason and Louise from Discover Serenity were there as were Jo and Rob from Meta Medicine who trained Lynette and I as EFT Practitioners. There were also stands offering psychic readings, incense, crystals, Buddhas for sale, massage demos, energy healing demos and lots of other weird and wonderful things. Part of me is still a cynic about some things but I was determined to keep an open mind. If something works and helps someone then it’s all cool to me. I did end up going to one of the talks but I have to confess it was all a bit lala land for me and I came out before the demonstration started. I’m sure she was a really lovely lady and is helping a lot of people but it was a bit too far out for me.

We have been lucky enough to have had a lot of support from our friends and family and I was chuffed that a lot of people came to see me. On Saturday my Mom came along with my Nan, Auntie Linda and my little cousin Becky. Between them they bought two head massagers, crystals  and my Nan had a food sensitivity test. Even my Dad came in the morning to have a browse around and he bought an amethyst.  My brother Rick and his girlfriend came with some of her family too. I think he especially liked the camp looking psychic, haha.  My mother in law Pam and her cousin Wendy came and they went to a few talks, one about past life regression!

Me and my Mom on the stand

On Sunday, day two it was somewhat quieter but the interest was consistent. We met so many lovely people. Lynette is a healer and she often gets this funny thing out and dangles it (she’ll love this 🙂 ) and until yesterday I had never really asked what it was all about.  Turns out it was a crystal dowser. You can ask it questions (as long as it’s a yes or no anwser) and it gives you the answer. Initially I thought it was a load of rubbish but she demonstrated it to me and I was a bit freaked out by the results! Hence I went over to the nice man who sold them and got one for myself. Here it is.

JB came to see us and bought me a sandwich for my  lunch. He isn’t the most open minded so I think he was both amused and bemused by a lot of the other stands but it was nice that he came to show his support (and the ham and brie sandwich was nice too). Surprise of the day was my mate Nid randomly turning up to see what it was all about. He left with a dowser himself (after he was also surprised by how it seemed to just work!) and necklaces for his Mom and girlfriend.

It was so interesting to speak to all the different types of people there. I’d expected it to be full of older females but there was a mixture of ages and also a lot more men than I thought there would be.  One I met was a pagan druid. Interesting conversation!

Overall we had a great weekend, although we were tired and hungry by the end of it all.  A lot of people will have our details now and time will tell if the event was all worth it. I think it will have been.

Remember you can see all about what we are doing on our Inspire website, follow us on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook too!

Peace, love, empathy

Stace x

Posted on April 5, 2010, in Drugs and Alcohol, Emotional Freedom Technique (EFT), Inspire Health and Mind, People, Random ramblings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

