The Secret and my Secret Shifters

So after a shocking couple of  weeks mainly due to the stress of work and related crapola I have had to take desperate measures to pick myself back up.

I downloaded ‘The Secret‘ by Rhonda Byrne for my Kindle. Up until now I thought it was going to be another load of Americanised culty therapy crap (which it may border on). BUT it is making me think. I’ve always been an advocate of the power of positive thinking (as many of my close friends and family will know) but The Secret takes it to a different level. It also helps you to think about all the things you want in life and getting them too.

The idea of it is based on the laws of attraction. Like attracts like therefore if you have negative thoughts you will attract more negative thoughts and experiences. Makes sense if you think about it. You know when something starts your day off badly so all your thoughts are negative from that point on and the rest of the day continues to be even more crapola? Well if you can change your thoughts to be more positive then you are more likely to attract more positivity. Quite simple really but I would advise you to read it too and see how it’s explained in a much more comprehensive way than I can. This is just my simplified take on it so far.

In the book, ‘Secret Shifters’ are those things which can shift our mood when we are down or feeling negative in other ways. Whilst sitting in my sunny garden today I thought I would make a list of my ‘Secret Shifters’.

Music

Anything I can mosh to – the heavier the better

Anything I can singalong to – the cheesier and lamer the better!

Food

Discovering and making new healthy recipes

Eating out in a new place

Cooking for others ( I am a feeder!)

People

Luckily for me I have a lot of Secret Shifter people. These are people that I know will make me feel better and who I know will support me when I need it. One thing I have to learn is that I can draw on these people when I need to. I don’t have to be the one who keeps everyone happy all the time, they can make me happy too. Hoorah.

My JB, my Mom and Stepdad Tom, my brothers Ricky and Joe, my friend and business partner Lynette, my friend Ruth who I ALWAYS laugh with, similarly my cousin Charlotte, seeing my Nanny Jean, cooking din dins for my Dad and my in laws Pam and Bill who are great. There’s loads more. I am lucky to have so many brilliant people in my life. Like attracts like, love attracts love though. : ) I love a lot.

Activities

Singing

More recently walking and running

Reading in silence

Tweeting and reading people’s funny tweets makes me smile

Comedy on the TV

Funny YouTube videos

Environments

Sunny gardens, parks, the countryside, the seaside, camping and walking in the open air

Helpful

EFT, counting my blessings, asking God/the Universe

I’m only half way through the book so I’m going to keep going. If it helps then it can only be a good thing.

It may also be another thing I will bang on about so beware!

Onwards and upwards!

Stace x

Posted on July 11, 2010, in Books and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

