National Conference on Injecting Drug Use 2010

Thanks to winning the Hiwecanhelp competition I had the opportunity to attend the National Conference on Injecting Drug Use (NCIDU) at The Sage, Gateshead, Newcastle.  The venue itself is pretty impressive.

Overlooking the Tyne I resisted singing Fog on the Tyne on Day One but by Day Two it proved far too difficult for me as there was actually fog on the Tyne. It wasn’t mine though. . . .

I was kindly put up for two days by Roweena, Managing Director of Hiwecanhelp who was exhibiting at the conference as well as chairing day two. As I was staying with Roweena it was nice to have a base at the Hiwecanhelp stand also with the lovely Barbara. On Day One I made the mistake of wearing my high heeled boots as I hadn’t realised The Sage was on three levels with a crazy amount of stairs. My buttocks certainly got a workout! My Skecher’s were a better alternative on Day Two despite them making me look like a bit of a short arse next to Nigel (see below!).

I’ll be writing separate posts about some of the presentations I attended and found the most useful and interesting to share.

It was great to be able to meet some of the Drug peeps I have known for a while through Twitter such as Nigel Brunsdon of Injecting Advice fame,  Allison, a harm reduction worker who works with Nigel on the brilliant Hooked podcasts, Tony Lee, and Maddie O Hare from HIT.

Me, Nigel Brunsdon (Injecting Advice) and Roweena Russell (Hiwecanhelp)

Allison, me and Roweena

Being the social butterfly that I am I enjoyed walking around and chatting with the services that had stalls there which included HITLifeline, Concateno, NNEF and loads more. I was also interested to see that South London has an addictions clinic specifically aimed at users of party drugs.

Throughout the conference as well as the plenary sessions in the main conference hall there was a choice of different presentations to attend. This made it more flexible and I found that I was able to concentrate much better on the information as I could pick and choose the sessions that were most relevant to me.

Highlights

Staying with Roweena and Ruth (rather than being lonely in an overpriced hotel!).

Meeting my Twittery folk.

Viewing the new Lifeline animation ‘The Tale of The Two Charlies’.

The presentations on Drug Purity.

Seeing how chuffed Tony Lee was at getting thought his very first conference presentation. (Well done!)

Nigel and Allison’s Twitter presentation  – despite the fact they had tweets up on the big screen including mine, one of which was: –

Looking forward to day 2 of #NCIDU in Newcastle. Still no sign of Spuggie though. #OoohBykerBykerBykerGrove
Oh dear.
You can see everyone’s tweets about the conference here.

Watch this space for more info on the content of the days, I’ll plough through my notes and get things blogged in my very own special Stacey way over the next few days : )

Stace x

@StaceInspire

Posted on October 9, 2010, in Drugs and Alcohol, Facebook and Twitter, People and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Nigel Brunsdon

    Thanks for the mentions, it was great to finally meet you face to face

    Nig

  2. Thanks for blogging this stacey. I’m looking forward to the next installments, hurry up! lol

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention National Conference on Injecting Drug Use 2010 « StaceInspire's Blog -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

