Gigs of 2010

I Hate You More (various Brum venues)


I’ve seen I Hate You More a few times now in various Birmingham venues and I love them. Just exactly what I need from a band. No messing about metal. It’s  great to find a band that are so good you appreciate the fact you can still see them at the smaller venues. Their album is available on ITunes and you should get it  right now or I’ll hate you more.

\m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/

Machine head – Birmingham 02 Academy

One of my favourite bands. This was probably about the 10th time I’ve seen them and they never disappoint. There’s nothing quite as exciting as hearing the intro of Davidian. We had to wait until the encore for it though.

\m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/

Merciless Terror – Scruffy Murphy’s, Birmingham

A find and a half. They played on the bill of a Terrorizer Grindhouse night which I went to because I Hate You more were playing. Proper headbanging quality.

Whiplash Potential 10/10

\m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/

Korn – Wolverhampton Civic Hall

Another band I have seen many times mostly great, sometimes not so great. This time was a sigh of relief as they really are back on form. I’m usually a bit old school when it comes to bands like Korn but even tracks they played off their new album were well received. Jonathan Davis seems to have sorted himself out and his voice can’t really be rivalled for its uniqueness.

\m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/

Stone Sour & Avenged Sevenfold, Birmingham NIA

I’ll start with A7X. It was less than a year since The Rev’s death so parts of this set were emotional. The first time I saw Avenged Sevenfold was at Birmingham Academy a few years ago when City of Evil came out. They’ve never been a band I’ve listened to much but live, and this is a biggie, they are f*ckin’ amazing. Seriously. I tend to listen to heavier stuff day to day but M Shadows’ vocals are spot on, he can hit such a range of notes and can do the transition from melodic and emotive to heavy and growly. Yeaahhhh. As well as SOAD if I miss them at Download this year I will have to cut my own ears off.

\m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/

Stone Sour

My future husband Corey Tayor. Now some of the new Stone Sour stuff is not quite heavy enough for me and I hope they don’t go too far down the radio friendly road. However, I don’t think (I suppose like a lot of bands) that album versions do the power of the songs justice. Digital sounded great live but when I hear it on the radio it’s just a bit meh. Older tracks were  great sing alongs and I could watch Corey all day long and will do when he finally makes me an honest woman : )

\m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/ \m/

Hatebreed – HMV Insitute Birmingham

Being a little ‘lady’ as I am, much as I’d love to get in the pit with the big boys I usually stand just on the edges of it and mosh like a crazy person. The pit at Hatebreed was very messy. I wasn’t the happiest that both my brother and my boyfriend decided to buy pints of Guinness two minutes before the band came on and then bless them, got excited to get straight in there leaving me with two pints to hold in a rapidly pumped up crowd. They lasted about  a minute before they were on the floor!  All that aside Hatebreed are hardcore brilliance. I just wish I was 6 foot and 16 stone to fully get in there. My only criticsm would be this. I like my metal loud and fast and dirty but I like a bit of a journey to get there. Hatebreed take me there too quickly and then there’s sort of nowhere else to go with it. Am I making sense? Doubtful.  Ace all the same. : )

Done.

Stace x

Posted on January 2, 2011, in Metal, Tunes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

