My October Recipes

Here are some of the recipes we cooked in October. Click on the links for the recipes if you fancy trying them too. : )

Sticky Toffee Apple cake 

This was on the cover of the Good Food Magazine which I subscribe to. I ended up having to cook it for a lot longer than was specified but it turned out OK in the end. The toffee sauce was naughty. More naughty because the supermarket didn’t have any small bags of toffees so I ended up having to buy a £5.00 tub of assorted Thornton’s toffee and fudge. What a shame that was! : ) I can’t find a link at the moment so I’ve linked to a baking blog I found called Cakes from Kim which helpfully has the recipe for you.

Ginger Stars 

This was just a quickie. I used stem ginger as well as ground ginger and made double. They still didn’t last long!  I had some dark chocolate in the cupboard so I dipped some of them in that and let it set for a while in the fridge.

Soul Soothing Chicken Soup

Last weekend I wasn’t feeling too good with a bad shoulder so I made some stock from the chicken we had the night before and made this nice soup.

Butternut Squash Pie

A pie, with no meat! Butternut loves a good roasting and afterwards we put a nice blanket of pastry around it before scoffing it down with some peas.

Risotto with Roasted Tomato and Mozzarella

Hugh Fearnley Whittingstall’s current River Cottage is all about Veg. Even though we’re not veggie I do like to try vegetarian recipes and it’s good to get more veg towards 5 a day. There have been quite a few great recipes  in the episodes of the series already so far. I cooked this as I am a bit of a risotto queen. I used my Stepdad Tom’s lovely homegrown tomatoes and the mozarella was a nice change from parmesan.

Honey Roast Ribs with Star Anise

Another Nigel Slater recipe. I had to make do with smaller supermarket ribs but even so these were sticky and rather lovely.

Aubergine and Green Bean Curry

This was one from River Cottage Veg on Sunday night. It required making a paste from scratch which always makes for a better curry. As always I didn’t really pay much attention to quantities and amended the recipe as it was only for the two of us. I’ve been a bit off aubergine lately so this restored my faith. I prob won’t use quite as much passata next time as it made it a little sweet but with a nan bread it was dunky and delicious.

Nom nom.

Happy scoffing readers.

Stace x

Follow me @StaceInspire

Posted on November 1, 2011, in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Mmmm your recipes sound yummy and thanks for the link! Haha, I had a toffee dilemma for that cake too, but I had to make do with Tesco Value toffees as that was all they had 😦 Love the sound of the gingers stars too, I love anything ginger and they sound lovely and Christmassy (argh the panic!).

Leave a Reply

