Upping my distances, trying to be cool

About time I wrote a running update for your eyeholes to read. After completing my first 5K Park Run with the ‘grown up’ runners I’ve been trying to up my distances. I improved my time at my second Park Run and felt a little more confident. Since then (two weeks ago) I’ve been gradually upping my distances and running every other day. The best run was on Sunday when I managed a full 4.25 miles. Very pleased with that! My dodgy ankle has also been behaving  just about.

However, this week that big ball of hot stuff in the sky has scuppered my plans somewhat. Lovely as it is I didn’t realise how a rise in temperature could make such a difference. After a sleepless night on Monday night my attempts to run in the sun on Tuesday proved difficult and for the first time I had to give in. I tend to be quite hot blooded anyway and I’ve already found getting too hot a problem above any other even in cooler weather. I tried again yesterday morning and went out earlier. It was still quite warm and I just did 5K. I’m going to do my third Park Run at Brueton park in the morning and then (weather pending) just keep working on my endurance and getting that distance closer to the 10K mark. I have one month until my Race for Life. Eeek.

The good news is that yesterday I won a competition on Twitter via AXA PPP Healthcare. Just the boost I needed. I won an online running course from this great website Up and Running who you can also follow on Twitter @runningonline

They have all sorts of courses to help runners and I’m looking forward to getting some more inspiration and keeping my motivation levels high.

I’ll keep you posted.

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Stace x

Follow me @StaceInspire

Posted on May 25, 2012, in Blog, Health and Fitness, Journey to 10K, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Welcome aboard Stacey, looking forward to helping you be cool with the 10K! 🙂

  1. Pingback: Beat the heat, now beating a cold « Stace's Random Ramblings

Leave a comment